This website will offer limited functionality in this browser. We only support the recent versions of major browsers like Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge.

Equip Harlingen grant program now accepting applications! Start Here.


TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards; Harlingen Among Recipients

Students in a lab environment

The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) has announced the recipients of its annual Community Economic Development Awards (CEDA) for 2020.

The awards will be presented at the TEDC’s 2020 Virtual Annual Conference on Wednesday, October 7th, 2020.

The Community Economic Development Award program recognizes exceptional contributions of TEDC member cities toward the economic vitality of their communities and the state of Texas through creativity, leadership, and partnership in the achievement of business retention, business recruitment and community improvement.

The CEDA committee received thirty-four applications this year. Nominees were judged on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits.

Communities nominated included: Population Less than 10,000 – Bastrop, Brookshire, Cuero, Hondo, Ingleside, Jacksboro, Rockdale, Sinton and South Padre. Population 10,001 to 20,000 – Bonham, Brownwood, Fate and Sweetwater. Population 20,001 to 50,000 – Burleson, Cibolo, Denison, Greenville, Lancaster, Little Elm and Seguin. Population 50,001 to 100,000 – Cedar Park, Conroe, Harlingen, North Richland Hills, Pflugerville and Waller County. Population 100,001 to 250,000 – Abilene, Odessa, Sugar Land and Wichita Falls. Population 250,001 and Above – Borderplex Alliance, Brazos Valley, Corpus Christi and Lubbock.

The 2020 CEDA recipients in population categories are:

Population Less than 10,000:         Sinton

Population 10,001 to 20,000:        City of Fate

Population 20,001 to 50,000:          Seguin Economic Development Corporation

Population 50,001 to 100,000:        Pflugerville Community Development Corporation

Population 100,001 to 250,000:     Wichita Falls Chamber of Commerce

Population 250,001 and Above:     Brazos Valley Economic Development Corporation

Beginning in 2019 the TEDC decided to recognize nominees who met the individual award criteria in an exceptional manner. The 2020 CEDA recipients in the criteria categories are:

Innovativeness:                     City of Sugar Land

Transferability:                     Harlingen Economic Development Corporation Community

Commitment and Leverage: Development Corporation of Abilene

Measured Objectives: City of Cibolo

Secondary Benefits: Rockdale Municipal Development District

“Our Community Economic Development Award is one of the ways in which our organization honors the excellent work done by our communities, their leaders, and their economic development professionals,” noted Dale Fowler, 2020 Chair of the Texas Economic Development Council. “Each community nominated achieved excellence in economic development and substantially improved the economic base of their respective regions. The recipient communities in each population category were recognized for extraordinary accomplishments in meeting the criteria set forth in the nomination process.”

The TEDC provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With 860 members, the TEDC is the largest state economic development association in the nation.